May 29, 2024

The state of Arizona is located in the southwestern United States. It shares state lines with Utah, New Mexico, Nevada and California, in addition to a corner point with Colorado it shares an international border with Mexico. Arizona is the sixth largest of the 50 U.S. states. Arizona was the 48th state to join the union, it became a member in 1912, the Spanish explorer Marcos de Niza came to the area in the 16th century and later Coronado also explored the area in search of Cibola, which was once part of Mexico, Arizona was bought by the Republic of Mexico for $ 15 million, then declared a Confederate Territory, and finally a State of the United States.

The state flag consists of alternating red and yellow rays that represent the 13 original colonies and the western setting sun. The red and yellow are based on the colors of the Spanish flag that Coronado carried into the region. The bottom half of the flag is the same color blue found in the U. S. flag. The copper star identifies Arizona as the largest copper producing state in the union.

Arizona’s capital is Phoenix.

Arizona’s main enterprises and attractions are represented in the seal. In the background of the seal is a range of mountains with the sun rising behind the peaks.

Arizona encompassed an area of 113,990 square miles.

Turquoise was designated the official gemstone of Arizona in 1974.

The name Arizona is believed to be derived from the O’odham name ali sonak, which means small spring.

The bola tie was designated the official neckware of Arizona in 1973.

Arizona’s motto is Ditat Deus which means God enriches.

The Palo Verde was designated the official state tree of Arizona in 1954.

Arizona’s state flower is the flower of saguaro cactus.

Petrified wood was designated the state fossil of Arizona in 1988.

The state bird is the cactus wren.

The ringtail was designated the state mammal of Arizona in 1986.

Arizona’s nickname is the Grand Canyon State.

The Arizona ridge-nosed rattlesnake was recognized as the official state reptile of Arizona in 1986.

Arizona has 15 counties, and 28 state parks.

The Apache trout was designated the state fish of Arizona in 1986.

Tombstone Arizona is the site of the most famous Wild West shootout – the Gunfight at the O.K. Corral.

The Arizona Tree Frog was designated the state amphibian of Arizona in 1986.

There are 20 Indian reservations in Arizona, with a total of 14 tribes.

The newest of state symbols, the two-tailed swallowtail became the state butterfly in 2001.

Arizona is responsible for producing more than half of the copper in the United States.

Arizona’s official state colors are blue and gold. The blue, used in the Arizona state flag, is the same shade that is found in the United States flag.

Arizona is home to many attractions including the Hoover Dam, the Painted Desert, the Grand Canyon, and the Petrified Forest.

There are more than 100 wineries and 22 varietals of wine produced in Arizona.

Arizona has more mountains than any other Mountain State, a total of 3,928 peaks and summits.

Arizona chefs and restaurants have received more than 50 James Beard nominations since 2010.

Arizona has 90 wilderness areas, which is more than are in the entire Midwest.

Arizona’s Sonoran Desert is the only place on earth where the iconic saguaro cactus grows.

Arizona’s economy is highly dependent on climate, cotton, citrus, copper and cattle.

Arizona has 35 state parks and natural areas preserving the state’s natural, cultural and recreational resources.

The largest solar telescope in the world is located in Sells, Arizona at the Kitt Peak National Observatory.

There are 22 national parks and monuments in Arizona.

Arizona is also known as the Valentine State because it became a state on February 14th.

The Arizona Trail is 800 miles long and is dedicated to hiking, mountain biking, horseback riding and cross-country skiing.

Arizona is home to the most southern ski resort in the U.S, Mount Lemmon, located in the Santa Catalina Mountains.

Two of the top-rated waterfalls in the United States are located in Arizona: Grand Falls and Havasu Falls.

The official state fuel is petrified wood because it has the largest petrified wood deposit in the U.S.

Arizona is the 6th largest state in the U.S.

The oldest football team in the NFL, the Arizona Cardinals, dates back to 1898.

All of New England plus the state of Pennsylvania would fit inside Arizona.

The Grand Canyon is visited by almost 5 million people every year.

Arizona is the 14th most populous state with 7.2 million people.

Arizona has 11.2 million acres of forest, covering one quarter of the state’s land.

The average state elevation is 4,000 feet (1,219 meters) above sea level.

Arizona is home to the two largest manmade lakes in America, Lake Powell and Lake Mead.

Arizona has 3,928 mountain peaks and summits.

Walmart is Arizona’s largest private employer.

Arizona does not observe daylight savings, however the Navajo Nation in northeastern Arizona does.

The U.S. government owns almost 70% of the land in Arizona.

Arizona remains on Mountain Standard Time year-round.

Arizona has been used as the setting for many famous films including The Scorpion King, Raising Arizona, Bill and Ted’s Excellent Adventure, and many westerns.

The U.S. mail is still delivered by mule in one remote part of Arizona on the Havasupai reservation.

There is a spot in the United States where a person can stand in four different states at the same time, called Four Corners. The four states include Arizona, Colorado, New Mexico and Utah.

The largest stretch of Ponderosa Pines trees in the U.S. is located in northern Arizona.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *